logo-RTTKD-Woodford.jpgKentucky Derby-2019-logo.jpg

The 145th Running of the Kentucky Derby at historic Churchill Downs is on Saturday, May 4th ("The First Saturday in May”)

The Road to the Kentucky Derby is a series of races which began last September and continues through  April 13th. Generally, horses entered in these races earn points toward qualifying to be one of the 20 horses to run in the Kentucky Derby. Click here  for  a list of all Road to the Kentucky Derby Races

The points awarded in each race increase as this series of races progress.  The most significant races are:

  •  Louisiana Derby at the Fair Grounds on Saturday, March 23rd
  •  UAE Derby at Meydan Racecourse on Saturday, March 30
  •  Florida Derby at Gulfstream Park on Saturday, March 30th
  •  Wood Memorial at Aqueduct on Saturday, April 6th
  •  Blue Grass Stakes at Keeneland on Saturday, April 6th
  •  Santa Anita Derby on Saturday, April 6th
  •   Arkansas Derby at Oaklawn Park on Saturday April 13th

Upcoming races in the next few weeks are

  • The Lecomte Stakes at the Fair Grounds on Saturday, January 19
  • The Smarty Jones Stakes at Oaklawn Park on Friday, January 25